Bishop Chadwick Catholic Education Trust is structured in accordance with its Articles of Association. There are three levels of governance within the  Trust: the Members, The Trust Board of Directors, and the governors who make up the Local Governing Body for each academy in the Trust

The Trust comprises Members who are accountable to the DfE and have ultimate responsibility for the Trust achieving its charitable objectives. They sign off the Articles of Association and have the power to appoint and remove the Directors. The Members include representatives from the Diocese of Newcastle and Hexham. The majority of the Members are independent of the Directors to provide challenge and scrutiny to the Board.

The ultimate responsibility for the running of our schools resides with the Directors of the MAT. They set the strategic direction for the MAT and are accountable to the Secretary of State for the performance of the schools within it. This is set out in a legal document known as the ‘funding agreement‘. As charity trustees, they must also ensure that they are complying with charity law requirements. Directors are appointed on the basis of skills need.

Directors meet at least twice each term as a full Board. The Board has three committees established to undertake detailed and focused work in the areas of standards, finance and audit.

The Directors delegate aspects of governance and the day to day oversight of school leadership to a Local Governing Committee as per our Scheme  of Delegation.

Bishop Chadwick Catholic Education Trust is a growing organisation and has responsibility for a number of academes, all of which are judged by Ofsted to be either ‘Good’ or ‘Outstanding’. We have vacancies across some of our schools for both Foundation and Non Foundation Governors.  See here for more information.

Useful Links

Link to Governance Key Documents

Link to Governance Structure

Governance CPD Brochure 2023/2024

Diocese CPD Brochure 2023/2024

NGA – National Membership Assosiation for Governors

[email protected]

Local Governing Committees

Please see details of the Local Governing Committees for each school within the Trust on the dedicated pages by clicking on the links below:

Name of SchoolName of Chair
English Martyrs Catholic Primary School, SunderlandDarren Hubbard
Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic Primary, ShottonFr Ian Jackson
Our Lady of the Rosary Catholic Primary School, PeterleeKevin Nicol
Ss. Peter & Paul’s Catholic Primary School, South ShieldsTony Whalen
St. Aidan’s Catholic Academy *Dr. Catherine Emmerson
St. Aloysius’ Catholic Infant School HebburnWendy Woods
St. Aloysius’ Catholic Junior School HebburnWendy Woods
St. Anthony’s Girls Catholic Academy *Vacant
St. Bede’s Catholic Comprehensive SchoolTony McCourt
St. Bede’s Catholic Primary, JarrowPaul McAlindon
St. Bede’s Catholic Primary South ShieldsCatherine Ellwood
St. Cuthbert’s Catholic Primary School, New SeahamKelly Lamond
St. Cuthbert’s RC Primary, Grindon Paul Cook
St. Godric’s Catholic Primary SchoolMichael Facchini
St. Gregory’s RC Primary South ShieldsMichael Puech
St. James’ Catholic Primary School HebburnSharon Grewcock
St. John Bosco Catholic Primary School, Town End FarmIan McDonagh
St. Joseph’s Catholic Academy*Geraldine Kilgour
St. Joseph’s Catholic Primary School, BlackhallFr Ian Jackson
St. Joseph’s Catholic Primary School, JarrowAiline Gibson
St. Joseph’s Catholic Primary School, MillfieldLizzie Brooks & Tercy Thomas
St. Leonard’s Catholic Primary School, SilksworthAlison Aisbitt
St. Mary Magdalen RC Primary School, SeahamKathryn Robinson
St. Mary’s Catholic Primary School, JarrowKevin Nicol
St. Mary’s Catholic Primary School, SunderlandRachel Cameron
St. Mary’s Catholic Primary School, WingateMichael Facchini
St. Matthew’s RC Primary School, JarrowHelen Hall
St. Oswald’s Catholic Primary School, South ShieldsMargaret Ellenden
St. Patrick’s Catholic Primary School, RyhopeTony McCourt
St. Wilfrid’s RC CollegeGeraldine Kilgour
Skip to content